St. John’s Political Education Club (SPEC) is a club that is focused on educating the student body of St. John’s School with unbiased information.People have been increasingly forming their political opinions based on that of their party, rather than choosing their party based on their opinions. Thus, our overarching goal for the club is to inform people about current political events in a non-partisan fashion, to equip students with the tools to form their own personal opinions, and to inspire student engagement with both politics and public policy. By hosting forums, speakers,  debates, and more, we are able to stimulate student discourse throughout the St. John’s community, encouraging people to create their own opinions based on the information they learn at our meetings. Once equipped with information, our website (www.specsjs.com) gives students a platform to express their own political opinions. In America’s polarized political landscape, we want to have a positive political impact that not only engages young people with politics, but also gives them the tools they need to make real change in the world.  

Presidents/Founders

Jackson Edwards – jaedwards@sjs.org or jackson@specsjs.com

Jack Trent –  jtrent@sjs.org or jack@specsjs.com

Sponsors

Ms. Eleanor Cannon – ecannon@sjs.org

Mr. Russell Hardin – rhardin@sjs.org